EnergyTec launch header image - EnergyTec Cluster

EnergyTec Cluster

The EnergyTec Cluster at Harwell Campus has 57 organisations comprising of over 1100 employees.

The EnergyTec Cluster at Harwell Campus has 57 organisations comprising of over 1100 employees and aims is to bring  together the multiple capabilities of Harwell with the surrounding regions to help address the UK’s energy challenges, and the economic opportunities they present. Powering our increasingly energy-hungry world without causing catastrophic damage to the environment through climate change is one of the most pressing challenges of the 21st century.

Organisations such as the Faraday Institution, work with other UK public bodies, academia, companies and energy clusters to share knowledge, identify gaps and focus on areas where organisations complement each other. The EnergyTec Cluster leverages the assets at Harwell to boost productivity across the UK, in line with priorities set by the UK Industrial Strategy. This well-established entrepreneurial ecosystem facilitates collaboration, risk sharing and makes it easier to attract new investments, gain economies of scale, and tap into a pool of highly skilled labour, creating an ideal environment for developing and commercialising innovative energy products and services.


EnergyTec small image 300x199 - EnergyTec Cluster
EnergyTec wide image 300x129 - EnergyTec Cluster

The EnergyTec Cluster works in association with wider networks such as the Birmingham Energy Systems Catapult, and the Knowledge Transfer Network, part of Innovate UK. In addition to the Faraday Institution at Harwell, other energy and environmental science organisations include Ricardo, Siemens, Williams F1, an extensive academic network and the large multidisciplinary national science facilities such as the Diamond Light Source, Research Complex at Harwell, ISIS neutron source and Central Laser Facility. 


Additional capabilities include The Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and an extensive Space Cluster that includes the ESA ECSAT centre, the Satellite Applications Catapult, the UK Space Agency and RAL Space, that are driving world-leading technology developments, with the potential to employ multiple facilities simultaneously to open up extensive and exciting research and development opportunities.

Click here to download the EnergyTec Cluster brochure.

Cluster Manager: Emma Southwell-Sander